Extreme Light Group

group leader

Daniele Faccio


Dr. Thomas Roger (Research Associate) - Nonlinear light-matter interaction in novel geometries
Dr. Kali Wilson (Research Associate) - Photon superfluids
Dr. Alessandro Boccolini (Research Associate) - Computational Imaging technologies
Dr. Stefano Vezzoli (Research Associate) - Quantum optics
Dr. Angus Prain (Marie-Curie Fellow) - Analogue gravity - theory
Dr. Ashley Lyons (Research Associate) - Quantum optics
Dr. David Vocke (Research Associate) - Photon superfluids
Dr. Omair Ghafur (Research Associate) - Computational Imaging technology
Chester Moore (PhD student) - Photon superfluids
Vincenzo Bruno (PhD student) - Epsilon-Near-Zero physics
Gabriella Musarra (PhD student) - Imaging technologies
Niclas Westerberg (PhD student) - Analogue gravity and photon superfluids - theory
Piergiorgio Caramazza (PhD student) - Imaging technologies
Calum Maitland (PhD student, Biancalana group) - Light scattering from moving media - theory
Christy Simpson - Quantum optics
Radivoje Prizia - Quantum optics and GR analogues

Previous group members and students

Hatef Dinparasti (PhD student) - Classical and quantum effects in time-dependent media
Dr. Lucia Caspani (Marie-Curie Fellow) - Quantum optics and N-photon states
Genevieve Gariepy (PhD student) - Femtocamera and quantum imaging technologies
Rishad Kaipurath (PhD student) - Time refraction and metamaterial nonlinearities
Shraddha Rao (PhD student) - Novel nonlinear interaction geometries
Dr. Matteo Clerici - THz and quantum technologies
Dr. Constantin Aniculaesei (Research Associate) - Novel Imaging technologies
Julius Heitz (former MPhys student) - Nonlinear dynamics in chi2/chi3 media - experiments
Mihail Petev (MSc student) - Computational imaging
Dr. Chunyong Li (Research Associate) - Experimental officer, pulse compression techniques
Dr. Daniel Moss (Research Associate)
Dr. Eleonora Rubino (Research Associate) - Hawking radiation and mode conversion at optically induced horizons
Antonio Lotti (PhD) - Extreme nonlinear optics and attosecond pulse generation
Paolo Polesana (PhD) - Conical Waves in nonlinear optics and applications
Alessandro Averchi (PhD) - Conical Waves: therole of phase and group velocity in nonlinear processes
Mahboubeh Ghalandari (PhD) - Optics in moving media
Christopher King (BSc) - Dynamical Casimir effects
Vera Sala (MSc) - Experimental observation of Hawking radiation
Fabio Bonaretti (MSc) - Novel phase and amplitude reconstruction techniques for ultrashort laser pulses

External Collaborations

University of Arizona, Tucson USA - Prof. E. Wright, Prof. J. Moloney, Prof. M. Kolesik
University of Southampton, ORC (UK) & Center for Disruptive Photonic Technologies, NTU (Singapore) - Prof. N. Zheludev
University of Glasgow - Prof. M. Padgett
University of St. Andrews - Dr. A. Di Falco
University of Edinburgh - Prof. R. Henderson
University of Nottingham - Prof. I. Fuentes
CNRS, Ecole Polytechnique, Paris, France - Prof. A. Couairon
University of Vilnius, Vilnius, Lithuania - Prof. A. Dubietis
University of Insubria, Como, Italy - Prof. V. Gorini, S. Cacciatori
Politecnico di Milano, Italy - F. Belgiorno
Weizmann Institute, Israel - U. Leonhardt
INRS, Montreal, Canada - Prof. R. Morandotti, Prof. F. Legare

member of SUPA research alliance in Physics | Contact | ©2010 Daniele Faccio